Extra moves after a goalkeeper saves and holds?

The Football Strategy Board Game Forums What would you change? Extra moves after a goalkeeper saves and holds?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #3073 Reply
    Frankie
    Guest

    I had a free-kick and when myself and my opponent both made our six moves (3 each in turn x 2). Moving six players into the box meant I had one defender left near the edge of my own area, and my opponent moving his six players back to defender left 6-pace Sesay in a attack unmarked. My free-kick was cleared (opted for standard pass into area, shot deflected by defender and a fellow defender picked up the loose ball. Spotting Sesay in the clear, and onside, he understandably launched a long ball forward for him to chase, and so he was then through on goal for what should have been a certain goal but my keeper made the save, and luckily rolled a six to hold (even moving my defender up to six spaces with possession changing hands at the other end meant he couldn’t get close enough to stop Sesay running through). That’s fair enough as that is catching my team out on the counter.

    Now, according to the rules, the goalkeeper then resumes play by hitting the ball anywhere on the pitch other than in the opposite final third. But the player he threw it too lost possession, and so the man winning the ball was able to put Sesay straight in to score this time via the same scenario.

    One the one hand, my tough luck for choosing not to move that defender to a more sensible position when I was setting up for my free-kick and so it’s my fault for leaving a quick striker onside, and tough luck that my player the GK distributed to then lost the ball in a duel, or that I chose that option instead of smashing the ball back upfield to all my waiting attackers/defenders that had gone forward for the initial set-piece.

    On the other hand however, when my goalkeeper saved it, realistically he would not be distributing the ball again until his team mates (i.e. the defenders I had sent forward for the free-kick) were back in position. However, I had only been able to move them all up to six hexes from the opposite final third when my GK saved it so they were still all in attacking positions, leaving Sesay still in the clear when my player in midfield lost the ball.

    So should there be something that suggest that when the goalkeeper holds a shot, there is an addition set of ‘free moves’ to enable both teams to reset, as would likely happen in this scenario in real life?

    #3082 Reply
    koripl
    Guest

    As I remember in the rules stays that before launching the ball from the goalkeeper any player in both final thirds got free move of 6 hexes starting with GK team.

    #3086 Reply
    Eightball899
    Guest

    ^^ this is my understanding

    #3091 Reply
    Frankie
    Guest

    Maybe I missed that in the rule book then?

    However, this would not solve the issue of defenders being able to get back far enough – a defender would need about 20+ moves to get back to what would be a realistic position before a goalkeeper released the ball, six only just gets you outside the attacking third you were in.

    One the one hand, that’s the gamble. On the other hand, it’s unrealistic that an entire team would not get back into position before their goalkeeper resumed play

    #3095 Reply
    Frankie
    Guest

    “As I remember in the rules stays that before launching the ball from the goalkeeper any player in both final thirds got free move of 6 hexes starting with GK team.”

    *EDIT* We in fact did use that rule as it’s the end-of-phase opposite final third six-move rule, but as above, not enough to allow defenders to get back into a realistic position before gk distributes

    #3097 Reply
    Eightball899
    Guest

    I’m not sure what the official rule is re moving the 6 players for the attacking manager but the one player I select to take the set piece does NOT count towards the 6, leaving a pattern of movement turns of 3 att; 3 def; 3 att; 3 def which has always worked well in the games I’ve played…

    #3170 Reply
    Colin Webster
    Keymaster

    What if…when the GK saves and holds the ball, you get to choose whether to have a quick clearance or take a bit more time?

    Quick clearance – follow the movement rules in the book
    Take more time – you can pick up and reposition everyone. Attacking team moves 10 players, then defending team moves 10 players.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
Reply To: Extra moves after a goalkeeper saves and holds?
Your information: